“Drink + My Music” Prod. by Brad Massey

Drink + My Music in Opa-Locka

Drink + My Music in Opa-Locka

I waited to release this song because I feel like it’s one of the best joints I’ve made in a long time. I took my time mixing it and getting the levels right (like I do with all my songs, but I gave special attention to this one). It’s a gem. Brad Massey killed this track. My verses were drawn from a very dark place. This was written and recorded in Monroe but the final touches were down in Miami. Check it out. 

“Drink + My Music”

(Chorus)
I got my drink and my music don’t bother me (Yeah!),
I got my drink and my music don’t bother me,
I got my drink and my music don’t bother me,
Calm down I’m goin’ through it right now,
I don’t want no one around,
I got my drink and my music don’t bother me (Yeah!),
I got my drink and my music don’t bother me,
I got my drink and my music don’t bother me,
Not now I’m going through it right now,
I don’t want no one around

(Verse 1)
Too stressed and I’m too vexed everyday it’s something different,
I’m feeling low playing Z-Ro while this Seagrams I’m sippin’,
Ma in the kitchen bitchin’ ’bout bill payments I’m missin’,
And I’m drownin’ out what she frownin’ ’bout by turnin’ up these raps I’m listenin’,
I’m different I’m not the guy who want a 9-to-5 as his mission,
Everyday I’m in that position the chance to change the world keeps slippin’,
So I’m at my job bullshittin’ playin’ these beats writin’ these writtens,
Schemin’ thinkin’ how to get millions buidlin’ up the brand of Top Billion,
I must be trippin’ I got a dollar and a dream,
Askin’ how RZA did it drinkin’ Carlo playin’ C.R.E.A.M.,
I mix my vodka and orange juice while my iTunes plays Scarface,
Gettin’ drunker as I wonder how he made it out of his hard place,
Gotta get my cards straight my full deck has no high ace,
Wanna be in the game but the chance ain’t showed her face,
So I’m sippin’ this liquor playin’ that new Khalifa and Spitta,
‘Til I pass out my alarm ring and it’s back to work for this nigga

(Chorus)

(Verse 2)
2pac and Hennessy are my remedies when my enemies,
Are demons that’s testing me I can’t be sober,
So I’m pourin’ up until I hurl while this vinyl Me Against the World,
On my record player twirls wake me when it’s over,
This music’s where I ‘scape to when the cards ain’t in my favor,
Takin’ straight shots no chaser ’til my skin reeks the odor,
You can call it a withdrawal reflex or a plain alcoholic mess,
Could be both it’s your guess but this is how I deal with stress,
Nigga, I’m blessed still I wrestle with inner devils,
Fightin’ them to a soundtrack of Biggie poundin’ the bass and treble,
When I’m at lowest level I drink ’til I can’t feel nothin’,
Slippin’ like DMX said couple 40s make me wanna kill somethin’,
Not a quitter I’m still comin’ but, dawg, it’s hard,
When you feel like no one’s with you not family or God,
But I don’t pout or sob I drown in these songs,
And when it’s resolved I’m a better man all in all

(Chorus)

 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

